tick tock goes my marriage clock.

The countdown box stares at me, practically shouting, “30 DAYS TO GO! YOU’VE GOT THIRTY DAYS UNTIL YOU ARE LEGALLY, SPIRITUALLY, PHYSICALLY AND EMOTIONALLY BOUND TO ANOTHER PERSON FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!”

I metaphorically slap it in the face and tell it to shut it’s mouth when it’s talking to me.

What happened? Where did the time go? I feel like we just started dating! What will happen to me? Am I going to change? In a month will I still recognize that same girl I see today?

I think about all the life changes that will occur…changes to my bank account, health insurance, house and car payments, cell phone FAMILY plans….oh, and my NAME for cryin’ out loud!

I will no longer be Becca Davis.

But, I still will be her.

I’m still going to eat cool whip out of the tub and call it ice cream.

I’m still going to leave spoons in the fridge for those random moments when I really want a scoop of peanut butter.

I’m still going to ALWAYS make my bed…some of the time.

I’m still going to call horses, “horsies”, snort when I laugh, and pretend to be British at airports.

I’m still going to get sleepy when the clock hits 9pm, and fall asleep during most movies I watch at night.

I’m still going to be absolutely terrified of bugs, cry when I watch Titanic, and hiccup when I hear someone else hiccup.

I’m ALSO still going to kiss the bald spot on the top of his head and call him boo bear, tell him I love him, send him texts every day, and miss him when he’s gone.

yes, we like to have fun 🙂

Yeah, I’ll still be the same…just goin’ by a different name.

Ok countdown, you may continue…and if you could please hurry up, that’d be great 🙂

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. You can compromise on the name thing and become “Davis-Burt”. I have stayed Lewin-Burt and so far nobody’s complained (well not too loudly). I just felt my name is an integral part of who I am and I can’t let it go.

    But whatever you choose, never lose sight of who you are.

    And by the way – that bald spot is going to get bigger. I should know, being married to the original version.

    Cannot wait to be there, getting so excited now.

    Love D

Leave a Reply

