tuesday’s tip: shellac nails

I usually paint my own nails, but knowing the kind of trouble I get into during the spring/summer (hello volleyball and ultimate frisbee!), I knew my nails were going to need a bit more protection if I ever wanted to keep the grunge “chipped” look at bay.

Enter: shellac!

What is shellac? Well, it’s a gel polish that gets “cured” on your finger nails by using a UV light. My mom told me about this a long time ago, but being the stubborn Taurus that I am, I claimed I didn’t need any special polish on MY fingers. And, by the way, I’d usually say this while holding my hands down as to not attract any attention to the chipped, faded mess coating my fingertips. A few weeks ago, however, I finally jumped on the shellac bandwagon after the insistance of my nail tech. “It’s so much prettier! You need this!”

Ok, you don’t have to twist my arm 😉

I’m going on my fourth week with the polish, and I have to say….I”M A FAN! Not only does it not chip, but it stays shiny and clean so much longer! Granted, my nails have grown out considerably, but the clear gel makes it less noticeable. If I had used a colored polish, I would have only been able to go about 2.5-3 weeks. I paid $25.00 plus tip for my manicure, which runs on the cheaper side for shellac, and I think it’s so worth it! Check out how my nails look going into the fourth week…

So today’s tip? Shell out the extra 5 bucks, and go for the gel!

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. Yeah for Shellac! I’m planning to get mine done (same American style) on Monday. I’m getting my fingers ready to take photos with my teeny newborn, whenever he decides to arrive. I love that i can have my nails done three weeks ahead of his due date and know they’ll still look good…

    I’m also glad you finally have pretty finger nails… 😛

    • haha YES I finally have nice nails! (PS: i chipped one of them today finally…oops…)

      I can’t WAIT for you to take pics with jack jack!! arghhhh I’m so stinking excited!

      love you sissy, see you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

