5 things that make being sick fun…

It was bound to happen. The random sniffle-y nose and occasional sinus pressure lingered throught October, made a loud entrance at my November marathon, and finally settled into the grand finale this December. I woke up Saturday morning with a sore throat, stuffy nose, and a head that felt like a boulder sitting on my shoulders. Fortunately, for me, it was Saturday, so work was not in the picture. Unfortunately, we were headed out to a wedding down in Austin, so staying in bed was ALSO not in the picture. Luckily, I had my man with me, and the trip down was pleasantly nice. The cold reared it’s ugly, mucus-filled head (lovin’ the imagery, right?) on Sunday though, and I spent the rest of the day in a fog, missing my Christmas party to stay in bed the rest of the evening watching re-runs of the Real Housewives and eating (but not tasting) a bowl of soup.  

Being sick sucks (say that five times fast), but there ARE some benefits to having some vile virus…

1. You get an excuse to play hooky from work (I didn’t use this excuse, but I DID go in late today thanks to a stop at the pharmacy).

2. You also have a legitimate excuse for being extremely lazy, not showering, and staying in your pajamas from breakfast till dinner.

3. You can relish in the delight of enjoying all the daytime Lifetime Channel movies that you might never have seen if you hadn’t been home sick. So sit back and enjoy a marathon of “My fifteen-year-old Daughter is Pregnant and my Husband is Trying to Kill Me”. I hear they got Susan Lucci to play the deranged grandmother.

4. No crowds! Well enough to get out of the house? Prepare to feast your senses on the half empty grocery stores, quiet shopping malls, and traffic-free highways. Stay home at lunch time, but otherwise, enjoy only having to mingle with stay-at-home moms, our blessed senior citizens, and the un-employed.

5. Your cravings are diminished. I don’t know about you, but I rather LIKE the fact that when I’m sick, I’m not craving all those nasty vices of mine. Coffee? Blech! That third can of diet coke? No thank you! Those peanut M&Ms sitting in your candy dish at work? I’ll pass.

So, although I may feel like my head is trapped in tunnel of congestion, my nose is running like someone’s chasing it, and my throat has the annoying scratching feeling like I swallowed a potato chip the wrong way, I’m actually feeling better! So here’s to a swift recovery!

i can empathize

hearts and hugs,

B.

Leave a Reply

