make a {small} list and check it twice!

The new year is rapidly approaching (seriously! where did this fall go??), and people all over the world are eagerly tweaking their New Year’s Resolutions in order to ring in 2012 with a bang. As for me, well I’m just trying to make it through my weekly resolutions (eat, sleep, get to work on time…).

Unlike my oh-so-organized “type A” friends and co-workers, I tend to stray along the lines of “New Year’s musings”. These are more-so “thoughts” or “contemplations” about the upcoming year. You see, to me, making a resolution for the entire year is like buying a 4 lb tub of jelly beans and telling myself I’m going to make them last the whole year. We all know that goal is going to be a wash by the first month :).

I DO believe in setting goals and staying motivated, but for me, it works better in small doses. Mini goals are so much easier to achieve! And who doesn’t find immense satisfaction in crossing things off your list? No? Just me?

So, here are some mini goals you could tackle before the December flurries settle into January frost:

1. Send out a holiday e-card! Don’t have good handwriting? Can’t stand the taste of envelopes? Send out an e-card instead with a short message to all your friends and family! So many sites now offer quick and painless holiday greetings that only need a signature or picture from you. Let your loved ones know you are still alive (and not in a jelly bean sugar induced coma) and well!

2. Take a drive to see the lights. I absolutely love the moment I start seeing Christmas decor pop up around the neighborhoods. There is something so magical about the twinkling lights against the backdrop of a dark winter sky. So take some time this December and go out for a drive! Get to know your neighborhood while enjoying the festivities!

3. Indulge in a holiday drink at Starbucks. It’s amazing how many people get excited when they see those red cups pop up at Starbucks chains nationwide. The reason why? HOLIDAY FLAVORS! Eggnog! Pumpkin! Gingerbread spice! Just thinking about a pumpkin spice latte is enough to get my fingers twitching in a caffeine induced tizzy. So go out and grab a peppermint mocha with a friend or loved one and toast to the holiday season!

4. Fill a bag full of donation items for CCA. This is the season of giving, so give back to those who are less fortunate! Take a large box or bag, go around the house, and clear out some of those goodies you’ve had stockpiled the entire year. Start off your new year with a clean slate!

Have you set any goals? How do you feel about New Year’s resolutions?

New resolution: sleep more!

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. Mini-goals. Before I knew about them, I loved them!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Remember when I created my New Year’s mini-goals? Well, now that we’ve rung in twenty-twelve, I thought I’d create some more pint-size aspirations for each month this year. […]

Leave a Reply

