hit me with that epiphany!

I had a few epiphanies this weekend….every once in a while I’ll come to some major conclusions in my life that seem simple enough to make me wonder why I never thought of them, yet complex in the sense that I am left either utterly discouraged or extremely uplifted. Or sometimes not bothered at all….

Confounded yet?

Why not? I certainly am!

Let’s break it down, Freudian-style (aka I’m going to lay on a couch now and blabber on while you sit in a wing back chair and twirl your fake mustache, all the while scribbling jarble down in your wide-ruled notebook…)

Epiphany #1 – I am an extroverted introvert. Basically, I’m a conundrum of confusion. I LOVE being around people (please see my calendar for proof), yet I LOVE having “me” time. My favorite activities are split…dinners, movies, coffee time? A definite plus with friends around….Running and shopping? You best believe I be ridin’ solo….for some reason I find it difficult to hold a conversation when I’m huffing and puffing through those trails. Call me crazy, but I’m a bit preoccupied! The shopping alone really has to do with the fact that I am a shopaholic determinus. I’m focused on the clothes, not on the convo…my eyes are too easily diverted by all the shiny-pretty to really understand what’s happening in your life right now. My deepest apologies to those people I’ve shopped with. I really didn’t mean to walk away in the middle of your discussion on the pros and cons of buying that new sofa for your living room… 😦

Epiphany #2 – I am extremely forgetful. You see, I’ve always known this, but it is an epiphany now because I forgot that about myself. I mean, seriously, sometimes I have to really sit and think about what I wore/did/ate/said two days ago…I can remember movie quotes, I can rap all the lyrics to any Lil Jon song, but I can’t remember my social security number, or what the BF and I did on our second date….now, please tell me, which ones SHOULD I be remembering?? Yeah…thought so too….

Epiphany #3 – so many things are good after the first day….

  • Leftovers…except salad…can we say soggy??
  • hair…you can do awesome updos with dirty hair!
  • wine…duh
  • jokes…they now become “inside jokes”
  • tans…now that you’ve burned and peeled, let the “browning” begin!
  • my skin after a facial…bring on the afterglow!

Things that aren’t so good after the first day?

  • morning breath…Please: remove retainer. Brush teeth.
  • that picture you took after your third glass of wine
  • my makeup…the smudged eyeliner and smeared lip gloss is SOOOO Courtney Love circa, well…all the time. 🙂
  • my muscles after that long run I decided to embark on…

So…anyone have any epiphanies this weekend? Or are you more self-aware than me? 🙂

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. “conundrum of confusion”…lol

Leave a Reply

