let’s kick this pig!

Am I the only one that ever says things like that when I’m about to leave a place? Anyone? What about:

“Let’s bust this popsicle stand”

“Let’s blow this joint”

“Let’s make like a bread truck and get our buns out of here”

“Let’s make like a tree and leave” (a bit of a stretch)

“Let’s make like a baby and head out”

“I’m off like a wedding dress!” (sorry….that one’s a bit more..risque!)

No one?

Fine. You can all just sit there and stare at me while I secretly sulk and think you are lying.

I’ve been thinking about some other sayings that I generally toss out, and realized that there are quite a few….and they are very…interesting.

Where do we come up with some of this stuff?

For instance, here are some phrases or words that get thrown around in a normal conversation between me and my friends (or co-workers, parents, the guy in front of me at Starbucks…):

bombin’ or bomb dot com – said in reference to anything that is awesome.

toods poods – the signature “good-bye” between myself and Lyndsey Teich…fellow ‘poodle’

cray cray – anything that is crazy. or apparently doubly crazy.

totes jelly – totally jealous….must be said in moderation, or else a hankering for toast and jam inevitably follows.

stinkin’ – used instead of “really” or “very”…Example: “that is stinkin’ cray cray”

trinity mother francis! – said anytime you really feel like using an inappropriate four letter word. Or when you pass the hospital so aptly named, “Trinity Mother Francis Hospital”.

boom – can be used to symbolize the end of a conversation, or the proving of a point. For instance, “yeah, I totally ate all the cereal. Boom.”

any movie quote…ever – can be used in place of any conversation topic…ever.

If you really listened to the conversations of those born after the Carter administration, you’d find that most of the phrases/words/sounds/etc. have some alternate meaning or connotation….or simply don’t mean anything at all, and are just random syllables mashed together and spewed out in a jumbled cacophony of sound. Some conversations can be entirely made up of song lyrics and television quotes…and totally make sense. I’m sure our grandparents (or parents) sit and listen to us speak and can only shake their head in utter disbelief at our dialogue…

“Don’t you sass me! I’ll come at you like a spider monkey!”

“I’ll scissor kick you in the back of the head!”

“I’m all hopped up on mountain dew, Chip!”

“That’s the way your mother likes it, Trebek!”

“BOOM.”

And there you have it. A conversation had between friends, using only lines from pop culture.

Got any catch phrases of your own? Is your speech riddled with randomness like mine?

hearts and cray cray hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. Up in the north where Baptist church splits are normal and hockey is our national sport, we say “Make like a Baptist church and split” and “Make like a Hockey player and get the puck out of here.”

  2. You got it =)

    I love the Yanks too.

  3. I’m fascinated by old school Southern phrases that I think I could pull off if I ratcheted my Arkie accent up enough.

    My current favorite is used for describing an extremely shy person…
    “She wouldn’t say ‘boo’ to a goose.” Just rolls off the tongue.

    I want to walk into a room and see someone I know and be able to pull of the grand, “Why Becca Davis, as I live and breathe!” But I lack the confidence for that one.

    One I use frequently is “as all get-out.” It’s used as superlative qualifier. For ex. “Using the phrase ‘as all get-out’ is as redneck as all get-out.” One that seems somewhat related is “and their dog” – as in, “Everybody and their dog was at the funny car races on Saturday night.”

    One of my favorite writers, Rick Bragg, turns some amazing phrases in his books and articles…
    Two that come to mind – “They paid him enough money to burn a wet dog.” And “Everybody knows a big fish won’t bite on a bluebird day.”

    And lastly… my grandmother Verba Loweta “Lopie” Ward Turney has some classics of her own.
    “I look like a haint!” – I need some makeup/haircare.
    “That makes me want to take a dip of snuff!” – That disgusts me.
    “We’ll go in the shank of the day.” – We’ll go later in the day.
    “He told her how the cow at the cabbage.” – He gave her a piece of his mind.

  4. haha i love these. i’ve been hearing cray cray a lot lately. and stinkin’ is my fave, it’s so much cuter and more fun adjective than the f word, lol.

Leave a Reply

