shoulder pads, mullets, and cableknits….OH MY!

I  may talk mostly about my interests and happenings on the weekends or evenings, but from the hours of 7:30-5:00pm, Monday through Friday, you can find me over at JCPenney’s HQ. In my department, many of my co-workers have worked for JCP since before we moved down to Dallas in the 1980’s, and if you know anything about people working in retail, it’s that we tend to hoard things: samples, catalogs, fabric swatches, etc. I’m not sure why….I mean, I know I keep things around from a few seasons ago for when we want to revisit a print, but there are far too many people in this office that hold on to things WELL past their expiration date. Case in point: the other day a few of us gathered around to gawk at a fellow co-workers keepsake: a Fall/Winter 1987 catalog. Yes….back when catalog was a major part of our business, these puppies used to be as big as a SW Bell phone book….and almost as expansive. We sold everything from wedding dresses to welding tables. Going hunting AND snowshoeing in the same weekend? No problem! Head on over to JCP and we’ll hook you up. 🙂

Needless to say, I couldn’t help but wrench that sucker out of my co-worker’s iron-fisted grasp (yes, hoarders can be stubborn people….) and prance on over to the copy room to capture a few snapshots of the good ol’ days. So, here are some lovelies from 1987 for your viewing pleasure….enjoy!

catalog cover

even the great kenny had a line!

hey little brother! ready to go get beat up at recess?

here comes the...wait...what IS that?

we're men...we're men in...awesome coveralls.

nothing says sleepover like head to toe terrycloth...

don’t you wish we could take a trip down memory lane??

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. haaha how funny! i love the commentary! your post is similar to mine today! except 2 decades apart! the bridal gear is really something… do u think everyone looks back at bridesmaid dresses and cringes, is that really inevitable?

    • ooh i need to scoot on over and check it out!! I’m really hoping that I won’t look back on my bridesmaids’ dresses and cringe! the ones I’ve worn so far have been very classic, so I don’t think I’ll have a problem! but still….you never know I guess! 🙂

Leave a Reply

