things i’m lovin…

I feel like it’s been forever since I’ve blogged about something other than travel! I mean, that IS a huge portion of this blog, but I always like to shake it up with some other topics! Therefore, let’s get back to some oldies yet goodies, shall we?

Here are some things I’m lovin’ at the moment…

flat canvas shoes…I know, I know, I just said I wouldn’t talk about travel, but man oh MAN did having shoes like this really help with the hours of walking! They’re cute, they’re comfy, and most of all, they are practical…I sound like my mother when I say this, but it’s true, you really DO need to have some good walking shoes! I made a much needed stop at H&M in Barcelona to pick up a pair of black keds-style kicks, and I gotta tell ya…my feetsies were saying MUCHOS GRACIAS!

my next purchase!

AT&T customer service…yes, you might be thinking the heat gotten to me, since customer service and “things i’m lovin” generally don’t EVER go in the same sentence, but I must say, when on DAY TWO of my trip I got a text stating my data usage was suspended due to it being too high, I was extremely satisfied with my phone call (at 11:30pm in my hotel room in London) to the reps over at AT&T who immediately reduced my bill from $648 dollars to a mere $50. Yep, you read that right. In two days I had amassed a bill worthy of a nice pair of Louboutin pumps…and there were no red soles in sight, people. In a matter of minutes, my heart came back down from my throat and settled nicely in between my ribs, where it needed to be. So the next time you are on the phone with your peeps over at the call center, remember…they aren’t always out to getcha!

Arctic Zero ice cream…I first saw this over at Run Eat Repeat, and like Monica, I am a girl who would rather have a LOT of the less calorie stuff, than a little of the baaaaaaaaad stuff (aka sooooo good). Yes, it’s better to eat real food, and not serve your estomago all that nasty nasty fake biz, but sometimes, I like to make an exception. Case in point: Arctic Zero ice cream….you can eat the ENTIRE pint, for only 150 calories!! And at 16 grams of protein and 0 grams of fat per pint, I’m thinking it’s an exception worth making. My favorite flavor is the vanilla-maple, with strawberry coming in at a close second. Especially in this 100+ degree heat here in Texas, sometimes a girl just needs her giant bowl of ice cream. mmmkay?

farmer’s markets…It’s been over 3 years since I’ve returned to my hometown, and only now have I finally taken advantage of the plethora of farmer’s markets in the area (would you say I have a plethora of piñatas?). So, when I AM home (and not travelling! wheeee!), I have been making an effort to get out and scrounge for some fresh, local produce. This past Saturday I snagged some oh-so-sweet peaches as well as some UH-mazing cherry tomatoes. Those tomatoes were an excellent snack today, and I’ve already got plans for those peaches in my breakfasts the rest of the week. Besides having great food, then prices are wonderful as well, with an entire sackful of produce only costing me 5 dollars….lurve.

so…what are some things you’re lovin’ today?

hearts and happy hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. Tom’s are great little walking shoes on sunny days! The gold sequin ones seem to match your style perfectly!!!

  2. I still haven’t gotten my toms because i went to Nordstrom and tried on the sparkly ones and they didn’t fit! the 8s were too tight and the 8.5 were way too big. it was a really sad day. but now i am determined to get the crochet ones (that are out of stock, please come back) and hoping that material is more stretch worthy than the stiff glittery one.

    • ok good to know about the TOMS! I am normally a standard size 8 with a pretty narrow foot but sometimes shoes are a little too tight (depending on the brand)…maybe I should go to Nordys and try them on first….i liked the crochet ones too! that was actually my second choice! they are cute, yet still comfy and casual! 🙂 great minds think alike…

Leave a Reply

