Bob…you are my father.

There is no denying that I love my family. Ask me about my siblings and I’ll talk your ear off praising their accomplishments. Mention my parents and I could go on and on about the blessings they’ve bestowed on me throughout my life. I’ve finally gotten to a point where I consider them to be my friends. Of course, it took years of childhood stubbornness, teenage angst,  and young adult bitterness to get to this point, but I cherish it nonetheless.

Father’s Day is Sunday, and this celebration of fathers around the world has allowed me to turn my mind and my heart toward the  man who has diligently loved me, raised me, and served me for the past 25 years. He has been a rock in my life when I chose to fly aimlessly. He was a pillow for my head when I was weary. He wrapped me in his arms like a cloak when I was scared. He is the man who I will measure all other men against….and the bar is set pretty high fellas! 🙂

So here’s a toast to the man I call daddy:

You taught me manners and respect at an early age.

You taught me how to love someone even when they’ve wronged you.

You taught me patience when all I wanted was a quick fix.

You stayed up late at night to help me with projects, and got up early to finish them.

You built us forts, playhouses, and swingsets.

You taught me how to “call the elephants” at the zoo.

You drove us all over the country, never complaining about being the only one awake on road trips.

You fix my car when it breaks down.

You pay for tows in order to FIX my car when it breaks down.

You coached me in soccer, inspiring me in the game I made into a career.

You went to every piano recital, every competition, every soccer game.

You allowed me to fulfill my passion for travelling.

You buy me “prizes” from all over the world, always remembering me in your hectic work trips.

You compliment me and call me beautiful, even when I couldn’t believe it myself.

You remain rational and calm when I become hysterical at all of life’s problems.

You gave me a nickname that only we share.

You did the “pancake” toss at night before bed when I was still small enough to toss!

You helped me with math, physics, and chemistry….since we all know Mom was better at English! 😉

You taught me random phrases in German and Chinese.

You share a love for witty banter, t.v show quoting, and Smirnoff ice’s 🙂

and most of all….

YOU GAVE ME LIFE.

 

 

That is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, the greatest gift you could have given me. I love you il babbo, with all my heart!!

hearts and hugs,

PAB.

Leave a Reply

