the art of fashion…

I love art. And I love fashion. Art is fashion, and fashion is art. Confused and confounded yet? Wonderful. 🙂

My favorite type of art is Impressionism. Ever since I was a little girl, and I visited my first big museum, I was entranced by the soft swirls, small, swift brush strokes, and vivid colors. There is something so serene about the art. It’s not harsh or rigid in its lines; the colors aren’t screaming at you from the canvas. Everything is smooth and soothing. Impressionist paintings are often of landscapes or realistic scenery, unlike much of the art before it’s time, which focused so much on portraits and religious themes….not really my cup of tea. Monet, Degas, Renoir, Manet, and Pissarro are names I first search for upon entering a new exhibit or museum. Care for a little confession? One of the names on my future baby list is Monet (preferrably a girl) 🙂

One of the many things I love about art is it’s transition into every day life. Although Impressionism was birthed and lived mostly in the 19th century, pieces of it are kept alive today through the outlet of fashion. From home decorating to clothing accessories, the Impressionist greats are being honored every day in everything from couches to couture. Designers are bringing the art into the clothing through pastels, floral prints, and blurred edges. Some are even printing actual pieces directly onto their designs, allowing you to carry a bit of Manet or Degas with you throughout the day. It’s your very own travelling art show 🙂

check out some clothing and accessories paying homage to my artistic loves:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

hearts and arthouse hugs,

B.

Leave a Reply

