things i’m lovin…

After the cray cray fun I had this weekend (recap and pictures will be posted later!), I’m ready for a breather! Spending time with family is always relaxing, but I have to say, I’m not much of a road trip kind of gal…I’d rather fly to my destination, get there sooner, and have more time, than take a long time in a car…I know many people out there would disagree, but hey…that’s what opinions are for, mmmkay?

Moving on from a potential rant, here are some things I happen to be lovin’ at the moment…

Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 and 6-week 6 pack…I pick up both of these DVDs (along with an Xtend barre workout dvd) from Amazon a week and a half ago, and let me tell you, I have three words: OH. MY. GAHHHH. Well, two words and a large exclamation. These dvds are no joke! Now, I’m nowhere near my dead lifting, hang-cleaning, squat pressing days back in college, but I’ve still got some muscle left! Lately, though, I’ve wanted to bring back more of the muscle-tone, and thus, went on a hunt for some good dvd material. I own quite a few of the Turbo series and Jillian Michaels dvds, but these two, BY FAR, are the hardest! I would take a picture of myself after a workout, for proof, but I’m not sure anyone wants to see something that resembles a soaking wet dog after a bath…pitiful and shaking….You can read the reviews for Ripped in 30 and 6 week 6 pack here and here, respectively. Oh, and the fact that each dvd is only about 9 bucks makes the painful sweat sesh that much sweeter 🙂

Summertime fruits…is anyone else loving the sweet season of blueberries, peaches, cherries and watermelon?? I feel like I’ve died and gone to backyard barbecue heaven….(now, wouldn’t THAT be nice? All you can eat grilled corn on the cob? Yesplease) Groceries, farmer’s markets, and roadside stands are stocked right now with the newest crop of seasonal fruits…Peaches have become a go-to for morning snacks…oh, and my current fave salad? Watermelon, sunflower seeds, feta cheese, olives, and spinach leaves with just a titch of balsamic dressing…try it, you’ll LOVE it!!

The OpenTable app for the Iphone…this weekend, after trying to conjure up some ideas for dinner Saturday night, I finally used one of the apps on my Iphone: OpenTable. The app lets you input your party size, your preferred dining time, and the area you are in. It then spits out restaurants who have reservations available for your time. For each restaurant choice, it gives you a brief synopsis of the restaurant, along with the menu, diner reviews, and sometimes photos of the establishment. If you like it, simply choose the time you wish to go, sign in, and you are good to go! If you want further confirmation, just email the reservation to yourself…easy peasy! I found the restaurant FINO through the app, and our dinner was UH-mazing!!

Prosecco…I love wine. yes, allll wine (Two week’s notice reference :)) However, during the blazers (what I call our 100+ degree heat days here) there is nothing better, in my opinion, than a crisp, icy white wine…That being said, my family still prefers their reds…which is why I LOVE when I can convince them all to have a cool glass of Prosecco BEFORE the meal! (no one else has a before, during and after drink? Just us?) Prosecco is a very dry white sparkling wine, most notably used in making Bellinis, but also as a substitute for champagne. In Italy you would find it under the spumante or “sparkling wines” section. It is very lovely as a starter, something you would drink during appetizers or cocktail hour. It is refreshing, crisp, and cool…perfect for those “blazers”, or if I’m being honest, any type of day!

So, what things are YOU lovin’ today? Anyone have a favorite “after” drink?

hearts and vino hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. so many blogs are raving about Jillian Michael’s DVDs as amazing with real noticable results. i may need to try one for myself!

    • oh yeah, they are good! Some people think she is annoying because she’s so tough, but I don’t mind it! I’d get check out her site for her list of dvds….they’re worth it! and cheap on amazon 🙂

Leave a Reply

