eíste mia maïmoú! (part two!)

If you missed part one of the story, you can find it here.

I left off yesterday describing our new “digs” for our stay…I would learn later on that living quarters in Europe can vary drastically from our own way of life here in the states. Not saying that one is better than the other, but they are certainly different! There were about 15 of us staying in the one apartment. 15 girls. Not guys, who can get by with wearing the same pair of shorts for 2 weeks straight! Not guys, whose toiletry kits contain just a razor and a toothbrush (sometimes…). Nope. Just a bunch of girls. And all of our stuff. Sleeping arrangements consisted of air mattresses set up in each of the 3 bedrooms. Laundry racks were set up in the sun room. The kitchen cabinets were stocked with enough nutella and toast to last a lifetime. Ahhhh, home sweet home. Our “home” promoted quick bonding, the closed quarters forcing us to get up close and personal verrrrry fast. I mean, when you have to shower in a BUCKET and sit around in your underwear waiting for your clothes to dry, well, let’s just say you don’t stay on the surface level topics too long! I absolutely loved it. Not only was it taking me out of my comfort zone, but it was teaching me about friendship and intimacy. And speaking of intimacy, here’s a funny little situation, if I may….Since we didn’t have air conditioning, and the only semblance of a breeze were some oscillating fans situated not-so strategically around our bedrooms, it got VERY hot at night. Thus, sleep-undressing was born. Yes, you heard me right. Sleep undressing kills one-billionth of a person each year due to death by humility and shame. It’s tragic. And it can happen to you! You see, it got SO hot at night that in my sleepy state, my body would reject my clothing. I would then wake up the next morning sans one or two pieces of my wardrobe. Fortunately for me, I wasn’t the only one afflicted with this terrible disease, so it made for less embarrassment come sunrise….apparently pajama-free WAS the way to be! 🙂

Our schedule during the day was pretty routine, each of us waking up with enough time to “wash-cloth” ourselves, eat a gourmet meal of nutella on toast, and lather on the sunscreen in preparation for the long day in the sun. We would then make the 45 minute commute over to the part of the city where we held the camps. The commute consisted of walking to a bus stop, riding the tram for about 15 minutes, then walking the rest of the way. If it were up to me, I would have walked the entire time, because nothing in the world is worth standing on an overcrowded bus with your face pressed into the smelly, sticky underarm of middle-aged Greek man. Nothing. That summer was the summer I learned how to hold my breath for 15 minutes.

We would meet at the guy’s apartment in order to all walk together to the park. Upon arriving each morning, we would be greeted by the lovely house mother, who always looked like she won the lottery, doting graciously on her beautiful boys. Sons are to Greek mothers like coffee is to me in the morning. I love it and will do anything for it! While we ate nutella like it was going out of style, the guys had a gorgeous spread of fruits, pastries, and other traditional greek delicacies….oh, and they had showers in their bathrooms.

But I’m not jealous. Really, I’m not! Toooootally over it. 😉

After coming together to discuss the day’s plans, and what our camps would look like that day, we would set off on foot for the parks, ready to take on whoever or whatever showed up. Let the games begin!

To be continued…

hearts and non-jealous hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. That sounds like a crazy summer experience! But one that you’ll never forget 🙂

  2. love the new blog style xo

  3. Wow, it’s so interesting to read about your experienec abroad!

  4. funny story! you really never know what to expect when you’re travelling abroad! i’ve never been to Greece (yet), so i love reading about your experience!! It’s funny that you experienced the greek man stereotype! This story also reminded me of a weird Poland camp experience I had where my friends and I kept a notebook where we drew diagrams of the people we met and covered all the weird situations we experienced (like arriving and learning that we had to build our own bathrooms). I need to go find that!

Trackbacks

  1. […] catching up? Here is part one and part two of the […]

  2. […] catching up? Here is part one, part two and part […]

  3. […] all the others? Here is part one, part two, part three, and part […]

Leave a Reply

