family + easter = feaster!

Oh.My.Word.

My family is nuts. absolutely nuts. I always knew this, deep down, but as I got older I just thought they’d grow out of it.

Apparently not.

ANNNND, with the addition of spouses, our weird melting pot of crazy has just boiled over.

the party has begun!

 This weekend was no exception. It started out on Thursday, with my bro and sis-in-law coming in from Portland. I had a massage planned that night (hellloooo tense shoulders!) so I was going to meet up with everyone on Friday afternoon. I ended up seeing them that night on my way to my appointment. My massage lady (masseur?) has her office in the same neighborhood that my parents live in, and as I was driving, I spotted them taking a walk with Steve and Mish. Without thinking, I stopped in the middle of the road, bounded out of the car, and bear hugged the crap out of my unsuspecting family. It was glorious. Well, at least to ME. Not so much to the cars that had to manuever AROUND me and my parked car. Oops.

Pam and John, my sis and bro-in-law, drove up from Austin Friday morning. I’d like to think that the party didn’t get started until I showed up Friday afternoon with a few bottles of champagne and some strawberries, but unfortunately for me (and for surrounding strangers), the festivities had begun the moment Steve and Mish stepped off that plane at DFW. I walked in to the house only to hear shrieks (yes, shrieks…it was like a room full of howler monkeys!) of laughter from everyone gathered at the kitchen table playing rummikub and having an impromptu happy hour….wait, I take that back, no happy hour is impromptu in our family!

Friday evening was a blast. We headed over to Cafe Madrid for an evening of tapas, sangria, and paella. My parents and I have frequented this place ever since our trip to Madrid last year. The ambiance of the restaurant, as well as the authenticity of the food transfers us back to the Plaza Mayor each time we dine. Needless to say, we were excited to take my siblings there to enjoy the same experiences we’ve had. Our dinner was fantastic, the company was wonderful, and I left with a full stomach and an even fuller heart! (sappy music plays in the background) 🙂

dinner shenanigans

 Saturday morning we woke up to french toast cooking on the griddle, mimosas on the table, and easter egg hunt preparations in the making! My mom, being the amazing woman that she is, organized an “adult” version of an egg hunt…Now, hold on, I say “adult” like grown up, not “adult” like Pamela Anderson…I don’t even want to know what that would look like…anyways, my mom hid 35 eggs (or so she says…one is still missing!) in the backyard, each holding a number. Once we found our alloted 7 eggs, since we’re all about fairness here, we would get an envelope that corresponded to the number in our egg. The prizes ended up being gift cards to Starbucks, Chick-fi-la, Target, Itunes, and Chili’s, as well as some cold hard CASH….yes please!

I have to say, it was pretty hilarious to have 5 grown adults in their pajamas rearing at the back door, clawing at each other trying to be the first one outside….I wish I had snapped photos, but my hands were too busy stuffing John into the couch.

The rest of the weekend was spent drinking, relaxing, attending church, and just enjoying some rest. Our week days are so filled with activities that it’s nice to just NOT DO ANYTHING Saturday through Sunday. I’m not one for rules, but that should be a new one in my house!

Oh, and you know your parents have moved on (I know it’s been years, but still!) when this is what your former bedroom looks like now…..

gotta love it.

hope you had a great holiday weekend! Anyone have any crazy stories?

hearts and bunny hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. yaay i love family time! i had a great time going home filled with stories and tons of laughter as well. i love the picture of your old bedroom! mine’s still in good shape, but i did ask my mom this weekend if she goes in there ever. she said it’s her reading room. i’ll take that! no hobby room transformations as of yet!

  2. We had such a good time with you guys! It was so fun…laughing and snorting through the weekend. xo

  3. Love you too! You are one of the best sisters ever!!!!!!!! See you soon hopefully xo

Trackbacks

  1. […] past weekend, in between the crazy howler monkey laughter and the hard-core Easter egg hunting shenanigans, my family and I actually had some serious conversations. I know, I know, it’s more fun to […]

Leave a Reply

