lights, camera, fashion!

Movies. Motion Pictures. Celluloids. Silver Screens. Flicks….

I have loved films ever since I was a child, and was enchanted by the Disney greats like Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella, and Snow White. Movies were an escape into another world, a chance to live a life you never dreamed you’d live. They enabled us to step away from our seemingly uncontrollable fates, and immerse ourselves in a world where we could set the tone. Want to know the end? Skip ahead. Don’t like what you are seeing? Fast forward. Care to relive a moment? Simply rewind. Or, if you’re just not keen on the story one bit. Shut it off. We can’t really do this in real life, now, can we?

Besides providing an escapism of sorts, movies have also given us some amazing fashion. One of the perks of filming a movie is the access to some of the world’s greatest fashion. Designers have collaborated for decades with directors, providing looks for films that have transformed the entire set. An outfit can really alter the vibe of a movie, and therefore, should not be taken into consideration lightly. Too often we blow over the set decorators, lighting gurus, and costume designers, when, in reality, their work is the canvas on which the actors are allowed to paint. Without the canvas, where are you going to have the work of art? I rest my case… 🙂

Over the years, I’ve come across some looks that have really stuck with me in a film, and I wanted to share them with you now. Some of them aren’t all that revolutionary, and yet, the simplicity of the design is what drew me in. Others, while I wouldn’t wear them in everyday life, spoke to me due to their influence on the script and the tone of the movie. So, here are some looks that have won ME over (not in any particular order):

1. Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast At Tiffany’s (the little black dress) – I adore Audrey, I adore a good LBD, and I adore a look that will stay relevant for decades to come. Love. 🙂

2. Kate Hudson in Almost Famous (the fur trimmed coat) – Penny Lane was a breakout role for Kate, as was this coat for me! I actually went and bought a similar version after I saw this movie. What can I say? It was music to my fashion ears 🙂

3. Kirsten Dunst in Marie Antionette (French Revolutionary style) – This is a look that I obviously would not wear in real life, but the way the movie was styled only enhanced the direction of the film. The colors, fabrics, and cuts were breathtaking.

4. The men of Ocean’s Eleven (Hipster cool) – It doesn’t hurt that the cast is loaded with some gooood looking men, but the icing on the cake is the bad boy cool look they’ve got goin’ on! Swoon.

5. Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City (glam chic) – Oh, to live in the fashion closet on the set of this movie…now THAT would be a dream come true!!

6. Cary Grant in Bringing up Baby (Elegant swagger) – Yes, Cary can do no wrong in my book, and this movie just proves that even more. Oh, to be Katherine Hepburn!

7. Cary Grant and Grace Kelly in To Catch a Thief (Classic royalty chic) – This power couple of film “graced” the audience with their enigmatic prescence on screen and swept away our hearts with their style and poise.

8. The Cast of The Royal Tenenbaums (Seventies Retro cool) – I love quirky fashion, and of course, I adore all things 70’s (um, I’m wearing palazzo pants today…thankyouverymuch!), so this cast could do no wrong in my book with their wacky take on the retro look. From Ben Stiller’s track suit to Gywneth’s fur at any hour, they made weird the new awesome. 🙂

9. Meryl Streep in The Devil Wears Prada (Modern elegance) – Her icy behavior on screen did nothing to quell the sizzling styles she wore. She made being a Queen “B” look deliciously sweet!

10. Matthew McConaughey in Dazed and Confused (Hippie twang) – Yes, he was a pot smoking, school skipping partier, but BOY did he look good doing it! He made the tight tee look oh so nice…and that hair? love.

Do you have any favorite fashions from movies over the years?

hearts and hugs,

B.

Leave a Reply

