you know you’re from…

I’m a sucker for quizzes. I’m not talking about the kind you used to take in school, but the sort where you find out what kind of animal you are, what your favorite color is, or which celebrity you are most like. Seriously, I get a secret (well, not so secret anymore!) thrill from filling in those blanks to discover where I should vacation next, and what my dream job really is! There is something tantalizing about wondering just how true it all is. Granted, I know that I was not a horse in a past life, and that my ideal job is not an artist (have you SEEN my stick figure designs? NOT so chic, I tell ya!), but I still get a thrill for finding out all that useless-to-the-rest-of-society information. So today, I present to you the “you know you’re from…” list. I love these! I always try to see how much of it really does apply to my demographic/state/ethnicity. Sometimes, the lists are spot on, really capturing the core of the demographic. Other’s I don’t quite align with, like the “you know you are from the south if…”. I guess I have too much Yankee blood in me!! 🙂

(the highlighted answers are the ones I have found to be true in my life!)

You know you’re from TEXAS if…

  •  You can properly pronounce Corsicana, Decatur, Wichita Falls, Burnet, Gruene, Boerne, New Braunfels, Nacogdoches, Mexia, Waco, Amarillo, and Waxahachie.
  • 

  • You plan your Friday night after you go to the high school football game.
  • You listen to the weather forecast before picking out an outfit.
  • You know people who put ranch dressing on everything.
  • You have known someone who has had one belt buckle bigger than your fist.
  • You notice the best parking place is determined by shade instead of distance.
  • You discover that in July it takes only 2 fingers to drive your car.
  • You actually burn your hand opening the car door.
  • You find 70 degrees Fahrenheit a little chilly.
  • You know 4 seasons – Almost Summer, Summer, Still Summer and Christmas.
  • You discover that you can get a sunburn through your car window…
  • Fire ants consider your flesh as a picnic.
  • A carbonated soft drink isn’t a soda, cola, or pop .. it’s a Coke, regardless of brand or flavor.
  • You measure distance in minutes.
  • Your school classes were canceled because of inch of snow, and some ice.
  • You’ve ever had to switch from “heat” to “A/C” in the same day.
  • You know that no matter how hard you try to draw Texas it always comes out wrong.
  • You use “fix” as a verb. Example: I am fixin to go to the store.
  • You find 90 degrees F “a little warm.”
  • You have had this conversation before…
    “You wanna coke?”
    “Yeah.”
    “What kind?”
    “Dr. Pepper.”
  • You get annoyed when people from the north give you crap for using ya’ll, we all know your just jealous.

(Source)

You know you’re Italian if…

  • You have many relatives named either Joe or Mary, and you have at least one brother named Joe
  • You grew up in a small house, but you still had two kitchens. (One was in the basement)
  • When you were growing up, you had five cousins all living on the same street
  • When you were growing up, you thought that all wine was red and that it only came in gallon jugs
  • If someone in your family grows beyond 6’ 2”, it’s presumed that the mother had an affair
  • There were more than 28 people in your wedding party
  • Your grandfather had a fig tree
  • You’ve always wanted a red Ferrari
  • When you were growing up, you ate Sunday dinner at 2:00 p.m., and on Thanksgiving, your family’s first course was Ravioli
  • Your big family gatherings were held in your garage
  • Your favorite movie is the “Godfather”, your favorite television show is “The Sopranos”, and your favorite singers are (in order) Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Jerry Vale, and Louis Prima
  • Connie Francis songs makes you cry
  • At least one person in your family does a great impression of Don Corleone
  • You’ve been hit with a spoon and/or you’ve been hit by a nun
  • You feel strangely comfortable when you sit on plastic-covered furniture
  • You know all the words to “That’s Amore”
  • You’re wife or husband wears a tee shirt that says “Pray for me, I married an Italian.”
  • You’ve been to the Vatican at least once
  • For a short time while you were growing up, you wanted to be a priest or a nun
  • When you were growing up, you thought Jesus was an Italian who lived in Israel
  • You fight over whether it’s called “sauce” or “gravy”
  • Your mom’s meatballs are the best!
  • 

(Source)

Check out some other “you know you’re… if…”

Enjoy your Monday Fun-day!

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. hahaha i looove these lists too. remember when fwds were “the thing” to do. i used to get a ton of “you know you’re polish when” or “you know you’re from Rochester when.” they never get old. I love the 4 seasons in Texas! very funny. and also i had an italian bf in college and i was wondering why they had a kitchen in the basement! haha i didn’t realize that was common! they referred to it as the sausage/sauce making making kitchen.

    • ahh yes, the many forwards…my favorite (well, I say that sarcastically) were the ones that said, “forward this to 10 people, or you will be unlucky in love forever!!”

      gotta love the optimism!

      you know, I think the two kitchen thing comes from always cooking. My grandmother would be in the upstairs kitchen, while my great-grandmother would be going to town in the basement kitchen….dinner was an ordeal!! 🙂

      and yes, the four seasons in Texas IS true….sadly…. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. […] remember how I love lists? If you don’t, you haven’t been reading this blog for very long. ORRRR you’ve […]

Leave a Reply

