Shout ’em, Scout ’em…tell all about ’em!

Can you guess that song? If you recognized it as The 50 nifty United States song, well then, I’m so very proud! I remember singing this in a patriotic themed pageant in elementary school. I had a music teacher who loved themes, and therefore, subjected us to all kinds of torturous  degrading  fun productions. In truth, the song was a teaching gem. I mean, I was able to memorize alphabetically each and every single state in the grand ol’ US of A. And I STILL know them all! Granted, this kind of information is only good if I find myself in a lightning round of Jeopardy. Still, knowing that I’d be safe if I ever DID meet Alex Trebec in that brutal category, well, that knowledge allows me to sleep better at night. 🙂

When this song was playing in my head last night while I was getting ready for bed, I started to realize that I haven’t really talked much about my domestic travel. Yes, I’ve covered my escapades overseas, but what about on my home turf? I live in a country FULL of character! Of course, it isn’t as old as Europe, and no, people don’t wear fanny packs here (unless you are above the age of 70, or just super cool 🙂 ), but our nation has a lot to offer, and I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to see quite a bit of it. So, with the song running through my head (quite annoyingly, I might add…), I started to think of all the states I have seen, and which ones I need to add to my bucket list (ooh, more on THAT later!!).

Here are the states I HAVE been to (or travelled through):

Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusets, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, TEXAS! Virginia, Washington D.C (I know, not a state, but whatever).

29 states….out of 50. Which means I have 21 left to go! Yikes!! I had better get crackin’ on planning my cross country road trip (complete with the VW van and a one-eyed dog named Sally).

Where should I go? Where would YOU go??

I’ll also leave you with the hilarious Friends clip where the gang plays the “Try to name all Fifty States” game…It’s harder than it looks! 🙂

More domestic travel talk to come!! 🙂

hearts and hugs,

B.

Leave a Reply

