i’ve only got eyes for you…

Although much of my wardrobe comes from major department stores and catalogs (I should have a gold card at H&M and XXI), some of my favorite pieces have come from tiny boutiques or thrift stores. I love the quaint feel of the shops, the quirkiness of the assortment, and the fact that what I am buying usually is very unique. I know that when I walk out of my house the next day with that piece, I won’t be seeing it on every other woman at the grocery. A site that now holds a place near and dear to my wallet heart based on this love of all things unique is Etsy. Etsy is “your place to buy and sell all things handmade, vintage and supplies”. According to the site, Etsy’s motto is as follows:

“Our mission is to enable people to make a living making things, and to reconnect makers with buyers. Our vision is to build a new economy and present a better choice. Buy, Sell and Live Handmade.”

Sounds amazing, right?

The site is very well organized, providing a detailed search engine as well as multiple ways to browse. Buyers can shop based on location, color, item, seller, or by timeline.

One of my favorite ways to shop the site is through the Treasury. The Treasury is an “ever changing member-curated shopping gallery”. Members put together lists of favorite items, usually involving a color or descriptive theme. It’s a great way to get a broader spectrum of shops and styles.

Here are some of the fantastic finds I’ve come across recently:

Keep Calm Ride On Necklace by brittanyjackson

ride on in style!

Vintage Electric Blue Panasonic 8 track player by vimvigorvintage

music to MY heart

Vintage 1990 My Disney Diary by BohemianSeed

dear diary...i love you.

I Love You print by MursBlanc

il mio amore!

Lemon Zest mini Bundt Cake by KaitlinandKylies

holy yum batman!

Vintage 1950’s Royal Aristocrat Manual Typewriter by TheFancyLamb

typing made fun 🙂

 

okay, so what are you waiting for?? start shopping!!

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. thanks for the breakdown! besides individual stores, i never actually browsed through Etsy before. i thought of it more like ebay for crafty people, tho it obviously totally is not. i didn’t realize you can sell food on it? random. but it’s such a great idea for launching small scale entrepreneurs, so gotta love it! very inspiring. i will have to do some more exploring!

    • yeah, you CAN get food! crazy! I really love this site for finding gifts for people, because most of the time, you won’t have to worry about someone else getting them the same thing!

      plus, it’s cool to know you are supporting smaller businesses and such….

Trackbacks

  1. […] (my words, not theirs) never fails to take hold of my credit card heart. I’ve already written a couple of posts on my findings at this site, so I figured, why not make this a regular thing? […]

Leave a Reply

