the great outdoors…

This weekend I did something that I normally don’t do: I went camping. It’s not that I have a problem with camping, I really don’t! (although, try to convince my co-workers of that!) It is simply that the opportunity rarely arises for me to venture out into the wild wild (south) west. However, my group of friends, my community, my “people-I-do-life-with”, have made this a common occurance every spring, and since I have been involved in this group, I have always bowed out gracefully timidly. I used to LOVE to camp! My family and I would head out to Lake Murray, Oklahoma almost every year with another family and spend days out by the lake boating, exploring, hiking. We would sleep in a giant tent at night, eat hot dogs and roast ‘mallows, and swim doggie paddle in the lake all day. It was bliss for my childhood self. Then, somewhere along the way, I became terrified of bugs…and my back hurt too badly to sleep on the ground…. I became scared of swimming in the lake…and Port-a-Potties made me want to gag. Somewhere in the process of growing up, I became a child again. Hmmm. Needless to say, the camping trips became less frequent, the tents and sleeping bags went up into the attic, and I forgot about my Huck Finn adventures as a kid. As I got older, every once in a while I would be asked to head out to the lake with friends. However, I grew up in a town where “heading out to the lake” meant going to your friend’s posh waterfront property and enjoying the sun on state of the art jet skis and speed boats while having the peace of mind that there was indoor plumbing and a nice comfy bed waiting for you at the end of the day. Nooooot exactly the same type of camping I took part in during my youth! I began to forget what true camping was like…

As a child, I was under the impression that all spiders were like the one from Charlotte’s Web, and my back had yet to feel the strain from years of weight lifting and, oh yeah, BEING BROKEN. 🙂

Now, I know full well that Charlotte is NOT the same spider as the one living in my sleeping bag, and that the ground isn’t as gracious to my adult back as it was to my child self.  

Aging sucks. 🙂

No matter what the circumstances were, though, I still managed to learn quite a bit this weekend. So, here’s the good, the bad, and the just plain awesome:

1. Country roads are best when driven FAST on 🙂

2. Sharing a tent with someone is one of the best ways to get over a fear of “lack of personal space”. Fortunately for me, I didn’t have this fear!!

3. Hot dogs and marshmallows always taste better by a campfire.

4.  Sunrises are best viewed with a hot cup of coffee and a little bit of quiet time.

5. Hiking is GREAT for your butt 😉

6. Smoke fumes around a campfire are like a truth serum….seriously.

7. Your hair will start to stand up on it’s own when full of dirt. It’s nature’s volumizer.

8. Everything’s funnier after midnight. This also applies in everyday life. 🙂

9. Never open both eyes while in the Port-a-Potty. You just don’t wanna know….

and finally….

10. the quickest way to get over a fear of bugs is by accidently swallowing one while eating.

Boom.

hiking brings out the best in us 🙂

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. You’re description of your camping history is exactly like mine. Growing up that was our only form of family vacations, and then I slowly became grossed out and when planning my own, prefer city vacations to nature ones. I think that I am slowly starting to miss it, and I’m 100% sure that I will be bringing it back when “i grow up” and someday have kids of my own.

  2. Roasted to your BOOM. Boom – roasted! I love that you went camping and that you had so much fun. Maybe on your next visit we can go camping at Lost Lake?! Sound fun?! It’s really pretty. xo

Leave a Reply

