spotlight! Florence, Italy (parte due)

Ciao! Come va? Earlier I began a spotlight on one of my favorite cities: Florence, Italy. I had the privilege of living in Florence during my senior year of college, and fell in love with the soul of this city. I briefly told you how I came about living in Florence, but now, in these next installments, I want to share with you some of the stories which explain why Firenze e il mio amore.

When I first arrived in Florence, I was greeted by the bustling noise of the city. My heartbeat immediately picked up as I surveyed the crowds of people, moving and mingling in such a way that it reminded me of some modern dance choreography. It was chic and effortless. The movement was swift, but no one was rushed. Jumping in to the flow, my car took me to my school office, where I picked up my keys and cell phone, as well as all of my school information. When I arrived at my apartment a short while later, two enormous rolling duffel bags in tow, I began the perilous journey up the 6 (yes, 6….) flights of stairs which just so happened to be made of smooth stone, and no wider than my arm length. After 30 minutes (due to one of my bags making a tumbling journey back DOWN the stairs) I arrived a la casa. What was waiting for me behind those two front doors was more than I could imagine. I was scared and excited. More importantly, though, I was home.

the blasted stairs 😦

I lived with five other girls at Via Toscanella 16. Kate and Lacey were from my own great state of Texas, Alli and Natalie were from California, and Stacy hailed from the great northern state of Wisconsin. We were all different, yet we immediately connected, a driving factor being our desire to experience a new life in Italy. We became a familgia, spending all of our time together. Throughout the semester, we ate together, danced together, travelled together, got lost together…you name it, we did it…..together. Our house was fortunate enough to get along the way we did. Other classmates didn’t fare as well. I would see other sets of roommates barely speak to each other in class, or pass by one another in the hall at school without so much as a “ciao!”.

We were sisters though, and having that bond made our time so much sweeter. Our house became a casa dolce casa 🙂

me and stacy, our wisconsin gal!

The first few weeks of living in Florence were spent scouring the city. We wanted to drink in the sights, sounds, and smells (well, not ALL the smells!). Many nights we’d find ourselves sprawled out on the steps of the duomo, happily slurping up gelato while people watching. On one of those nights, we met a young guy and his friend, both doing the nightly stroll that was so common in this city. Of course, being young, attractive American girls, we were used to Italian men making plays at us (hey, just keepin’ it real here!) Italians, by nature, are very passionate people, and the men especially have a “passion” for hitting on beautiful women. Therefore, we were initially weary when Mauro and Andreas began “chatting us up”. The night was young, though, and so were we, so instead of shoo-ing them away, we decided to stay and chat. The chat turned into a stroll, which turned into drinks at a bar, which turned into a friendship that lasted our entire semester. Mauro and Andreas were eventually joined by 4 other guys, and our six girl group soon had a six guy addition. All six guys were Italian, which was a HUGE plus for us. They showed us the ins and outs of the city; where to go, what to do, who to see. They protected us from shady creepers at bars, they walked us home late at night. They bought us gelato on hot autumn nights. They became our other halves.  

simone, lorenzo, amro and mauro...4 out of the 6

 So now, the stage has been set and the cast unveiled….more to come on my Italian adventure!

hearts and hugs,

B.

Comments

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your site. It seems like some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

