spotlight! Colin Firth

I’ve always been a big fan of biographies. In my list of favorite genres, they are right up there with historical fiction and chick-lit (don’t judge! it’s my summertime enjoyment!). There is something exciting to me about getting to transport yourself into another person’s life for the moment. We all know that most people generally want what they don’t have, so being able to “live” someone else’s life, even just through a book, movie, article, etc. is rather exciting! I’ve been able to travel to multiple countries all over the world, I’ve been privy to famous conversations, held in smoky, dimly lit lounges in the heart of Paris. I’ve sat on a movie set or two of many classic films, witnessing the art of filmmaking take place before my eyes…..and I’ve been able to do all of that from the comfort of my couch! I love to read. Reading’s my favorite 🙂

Since the Oscars are coming up next week, I thought it would be fun to share a little biography on one of my favorite actors, who JUST so happens to be nominated for an award himself! (and if he doesn’t win, there will be tears….just sayin’)

That actor is Colin Firth.

I mean, I know I speak for a LOT of other people out there when I say we could all use a little more Firth in our lives…amen? 🙂

So, without further ado, here are some deets about that lovely man with the sexy accent 🙂

Full name: Colin Andrew Firth

Relationship status: Married (Livia Guiggioli since 1997)

Children: William, Luca, and Mateo

Background: Firth was born in Grayshott, Hampshire, England, the son of Shirley Jean (née Rolles), a comparative religion lecturer, and David Norman Lewis Firth, a history lecturer and education officer for the Nigerian Government. Firth has a sister, Kate, and a younger brother, Jonathan, who is also an actor. Firth’s parents were born and raised in India, because his maternal grandparents, Congregationalist ministers, and his paternal grandfather, an Anglican priest, performed missionary work abroad.At two weeks old, his parents took him to Nigeria, where Colin spent his early years. He also lived in St. Louis, Missouri USA when he was 11.

more trivia:

 – Relationship with Meg Tilly began while filming Milos Forman’s Valmont (1989)

 – Had a relationship with Jennifer Ehle, whom he met while filming “Pride and Prejudice” (1995)

 – On People Magazine’s “50 Most Beautiful People” list (2001)

 – Has twice lost his on screen wife to a member of the Fiennes family – to Ralph Fiennes in The English Patient (1996) and to Joseph Fiennes in Shakespeare in Love (1998).

 – Has played Mr. Darcy on three occasions. Once in Pride in Prejudice (1995), in Bridget Jones’s Diary (2001) and again in Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason (2004).

 – Has had a verbal feud with Rupert Everett although the cause of this is still unknown.

 – Said A SINGLE MAN director Tom Ford offered to pay to help Colin lose weight for his role in the movie.

 – Nominated for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role at Academy Awards for A SINGLE MAN (2010)

 – Helen Hunt and Colin Firth had to abandon filming a sex scene for THEN SHE FOUND ME after being put off by someone breaking wind on the set. (2008)

Now…if THAT doesn’t make you like the guy, I don’t know WHAT will!? 🙂

oh my stars....

hearts and hugs,

B.

Leave a Reply

