to be….or not to be…..that IS the question!

This is the third straight day of sitting at home. Winter weather in Dallas means harsh ice, gusty winds, and crazy drivers. Every year I seem to forget this well known fact, and every year at this time, I sit at home, staring out the window, wondering where this mad weather came from….I can’t imagine what people do in Montana or the Dakotas…..I mean, how do people go for WEEKS stuck at home?

Being ice-ed in brings out the inner monologues…..I begin to analyze my life, what I’m doing, where I’m going, etc. When you’ve watched more t.v than you can handle, and done all the laundry you can do, things start to get….interesting.

Right now, in my life, I’ve got a good job. I am at a company that I enjoy, I have nice co-workers, and the pay is pretty decent…..however, every once in a while, I sit back and think, “Is this what I truly want out of life?” I’m one of those people that loves to play the game, “If I won a million dollars…what would I do?”….I like to dream about what my life would be like if I had no restrictions, no roadblocks. What would I be doing? Where would I live? Granted, I don’t need a million dollars for this, I could do it on a shoe-string budget, but for some reason, in our society, money just makes things easier (or so it seems). Therefore, if I had a million dollars, what would I do??

To start, I would leave my job and travel. I have been very blessed to have already had the opportunity to travel Europe, but I want to see more. I have such a passion for Europe, for it’s way of life. I love that Europeans work to live. I love that they appreciate the arts. I love that they are passionate about food. I love that you can live in an apartment built in the 12th century (I actually did….in Italy). History is alive and well overseas. The proof is in the landscape, the architecture, even the people. Europeans know how to live well. We Americans always seem to just get by with living. We don’t take the time to really enjoy life. Therefore, if I had a million dollars, I would live as the Europeans do…..

I would also open up my own boutique by the ocean. For years, I’ve been formulating plans for my own business. I’ve got the name, the concept, design ideas….the only problem is the dollar signs that pop up when “small business ownership” is mentioned. In my current state, I could never afford the start-up costs….so my dream of my cute little boutique with an oceanfront view is just that….a dream. Howeevvvver…..with a million dollars? Oh yeah…..TOTALLY possible!

I’m pretty sure that if I kept going, this post could turn into a novel….but, for the sake of time, and my own sanity, I’m going to end it by saying this: I will always keep dreaming, and I will continue to make “plans”, because if I have learned anything in life, it’s that it never goes the way we think it will. There are always surprises, there are always changes we can not account for….so why try to control it?

Our lives are in the Lord’s hands, not our own….and who knows? Maybe the Lord WANTS me to own my own boutique some day? 🙂

Until that door is opened, however, I’m going to continue to dream….now let’s see….what color would the sign be outside? hmmm……

hearts and hugs,

B.

Trackbacks

  1. […] I can promote the people who give their creativity a voice, well, I want to take it! After all, I have dreams myself of one day having my own boutique. So, what have we here? Let’s take a look at today’s Friday Favorites treasury I like […]

Leave a Reply

